by Scott Yanow

John McLaughlin’s first recording as a leader features the future innovator playing guitar in an English quartet. Although McLaughlin contributed all ten pieces, baritonist John Surman actually dominates this music, often swinging quite hard. The historically significant set, although a lesser-known item in McLaughlin’s discography, is quite musical and enjoyable in its own right.


01 Extrapolation
02 It’s Funny
03 Arjen’s Bag (Folow Your Heart)
04 Pete the Poet
05 This Is for Us to Share
06 Spectrum
07 Binky’s Beam
08 Really to Know
09 Two for Two
10 Peace Piece


Related music

Leave a comment